HEALTH AND SEIZURES

How can I decrease my chances of having seizures from stress or worry?

Probably the best way to decrease your seizure frequency is to follow your medication schedule very closely.  The number one reported cause of increased seizures was Missed Medication. When you don’t take your seizure medicine or take less than you should, the levels of medication in your body and brain fall. Your brain may begin to show unusual activity, which can lead to seizures. When stress or worry is a trigger, there are a number of things you could do to lessen the chance of a seizure. 

  • First, look at how stress is affecting you and how you are coping. Is there a way to lessen it’s impact on you? Are there ways to manage stress better? 
  • Are you having sleep problems? Difficulty sleeping is a common symptom of stress and mood problems. Since sleep deprivation is a common seizure trigger, it’s important to pay attention to sleep at these times. 
  • Are you eating normally? Eating habits often get disrupted when people are feeling stress. Some people eat more, others don’t eat or have poor eating habits. Some people find they have more seizures when not eating well or going long periods without eating. Maybe you are drinking too much coffee or caffeinated beverages? This can worsen seizures by disrupting your sleep? 
  • Is alcohol or using ‘recreational’ drugs a problem? Sometimes substance use or abuse is a problem when people have mood problems or are feeling stressed. Not a good idea if you have seizures. Some people are more likely to have seizures during or after alcohol use and many ‘recreational’ drugs can worsen seizures. 
What helps you manage your Seizures?

As above Patty talked about so much nutrition and self and family management. What do YOU do to help yourself? MINDFULNESS!! I have had to learn how to talk about my seizures and nobody ever told me how or how much to talk about or what to say or anything sometimes I said too much, or too little. I hate my seizures but I do not hate myself. I have changed the way I eat and I eat more veggies and more protein less noodles. I go for more walks and even go out and walk around be active with friends so I am not alone doing things I wont realize I have hit my walking steps goal for the day, I am not feeling as depressed as I was the smorning because I am active and hanging out with people I am friends with and we all laughing joking around and hanging out.

Great steak salad dinners full of protean and veggies

Leave a comment